Ex Ward Councillors.

Cllr Martin Terry.

As of Friday 11/04/14, Democratic Services, Southend Borough Council confirmed the following information.
As of Friday 11/04/14, Cllr Martin Terry (Ind) resigned in writing with immediate effect as a Westborough Ward Councillor.
All rights and privileges associated with said position ceased immediately.
As said resignation is nonrescindable a local bye election has been called which will be in addition to the forthcoming local bye election.

This comment was originally posted on
"Julian's musings Essex Labour activist" in abbreviated form on April 15, 2014 at 3.29 pm by David Glover, Secretary RAW 2012. 

2003 to 2014.


Terry had the unique distinction of aliening every single active supporter in Westborough.  A manipulative schemer who failed to take responsibility for his misdeeds and a shyster who took credit for others' deeds.
His departure from Westborough to Thorpe Ward might be described as "our gain their loss".

We say; good riddance. 

Cllr Paul Collins.

As of Thursday 22/05/14 Cllr Paul Collins (Lib Dem), the sitting Westborough Ward Councillor failed (miserably) to achieve reelection.
All rights and privileges associated with said position ceased immediately.

More information to follow.

2010 to 2014.

Collins had the unique distinction of wasting every opportunity within his tenure in Westborough Ward. 
Pride (Latin, superbia) or hubris (Greek) is universally considered the original and most serious of the seven deadly sins; the source of all others.
Collins' repetitive statements regarding self pride exemplify an egotistical love affair that is without bounds.  A master of hyperbole; some might use the word; bullshit!

We say; good riddance.

Name; Mr Michael Royston.

Address; 321 Westbourne Grove, Westcliff on Sea,
              Essex, SS0 0PU.

Telephone; n/a

Email; cllrroyston@southend.gov.uk

Political Party; Labour.

First Elected; 22/05/14.
Last Elected; 22/05/15.

Occupation; Graphic Design Manager.

2014 to 2015.

Royston was parachuted in after Terry did his infamous "Chicken Run" to Thorpe Ward.  Suffering from ill health; he was only in the job for one year.


In 2000 Southend had 13 Wards.
In 2001 these were redrawn due to boundary changes.

In 2001 Southend had 17 Wards.

The elected Ward Councillors were Jean Sibley (Lib Dem), Teresa Merrison (Lab) and Dr Velmurugan (Lab).

In 2003 Martin Terry (Ind) was elected from 2003 until 2007.
In 2004 Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was re-elected from 2004 until 2008 (after abandoning Labour).

In 2007 Martin Terry (Ind) was re-elected (for period 2007 to 2011).
In 2008 Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was re-elected (for period 2008 to 2012).

In 2011 Martin Terry (Ind) was re-elected from 2011 until 2014.
In 2012 Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was re-elected from 2012 until 2016.  Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was elected.n 2008 Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was elected. Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was elected.

In 2006 Tanya Paignton (Ind) was elected from 2006 until 2010.
In 2010 Paul Collins (Lib Dem) was elected from 2010 until 2014.

In 2014 Michael Royston (Lab) was elected from 2014 until 2015.
In 2015 Kevin Robinson (Lab) was elected from 2014 until 2018.  (Lab)
In 2015   (Lab) was elected from 2015 until 2019. 2012 Dr Velmurugan (Ind) was elected from 2012 until 2016.

No part of this site can be copied without the express permission of RAOW 2012.
All material copyright © RAOW 2012.
  Site Map